Carisbrooke Castle Museum Trust was originally established to run the museum by HRH Princess Beatrice shortly before her death in 1944. This was superseded by a Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO), established in 2020.

A Museum Trustee has the following obligations:

  • ensure the financial viability of the Museum
  • provide a framework of plans and policies to define the Museum’s purpose, and for monitoring achievement of its objectives
  • act as an advocate of the Museum within the community
  • provide for the safety, security and preservation of the collections
  • ensure that the Museum serves the public

When complete, the Trust consists of 13 Trustees:

9 Co-opted
2 Nominated
2 Ex-officio

Current Trustees


Carol Alstrom – Chair
Gillian Burnett – Vice Chair
Rosemary Cooper
Peter Ednay
Gill Kennett, DL, MBE
Gioia Minghella-Giddens
Peter Whiteman


A representative of the Volunteers of Carisbrooke Castle Museum
Anne Longford, DL on behalf of the Isle of Wight Lieutenancy


Cllr. Matthew Price, on behalf of Newport & Carisbrooke Community Council
Cllr. Jonathan Bacon, on behalf of the Isle of Wight Council

The Board of Trustees meets quarterly, on the second Monday of March, June, September and December.

Chairman of Trustees
Mrs Judi Griffin MBE JP DL, former Chairman of Trustees, with His Excellency Mr Keiichi Hayashi, Ambassador of Japan to the United Kingdom, at the opening of the John Milne exhibition